Profile updated on 4 March 2021





Thunnus albacares


Yellowfin tuna

Yellowfin tuna is considered a single population in the western and central Pacific Ocean (WCPO) for stock assessment purposes (Vincent et al. 2020 and references cited therein), although there is still uncertainty about the stock structure along the Pacific Ocean.

The Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA) is an Oceania subregional agreement between the Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tuvatu, and the Marshall Islands. The PNA coordinates the implementation of management measures with a view to enhancing economic benefits from the fishery. Member countries of the PNA have adopted and implemented distinct Vessel Day Schemes for the longline and purse seine fisheries, whereby they allocate fishing days to a country which are sold to the highest bidder. The PNA unassociated (free school) fishery was MSC certified in 2011. All the PNA parties are Members of the WCPFC.

Vietnamese tuna fisheries primarily occur within three provinces: Binh Dinh, Phu Yen and Khanh Hoa. There are four main fishing gears, longline, purse seine, handline and gillnet. During 2011, there were 714 longline vessels fishing in these three provinces and in 2012 there were 1,678 longline vessels.


  • Yellowfin tuna in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean (WCPO) is managed at the international level by the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC).


    Management Quality:

    Management Strategy:

    ≥ 6

    Managers Compliance:

    ≥ 6

    Fishers Compliance:

    ≥ 8